Listed below are the most Frequently Asked Questions of the Police Department.
Please review these before calling.
Should you not find what you are looking for:
Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
or call us at (203) 453-8061.
When does the Overnight Parking Ban begin?
What is the penalty for failure to clear my sidewalk of ice and snow?
Town Ordinance requires that sidewalks be kept free of ice and snow. Under the provisions of this Ordinance, Property Owners may be fined for each day such snow and/or ice is not removed. The Town may remove the ice and snow and require the Property Owner to pay for such. The daily fine is up to $100.00 for each day the snow or ice is not removed.
How do I request Traffic Signs or Traffic Control Devices?
What do I do if I receive a Bad Check?
There are a few guidelines which must be followed for successful prosecution of a Bad Check.
- The check cannot be over 90 days from issuance
- You must make attempts to collect for the bad check (Document phone calls/attempts)
- If unsuccessful collecting the debt, you must send a letter by Certified Mail/Return Receipt Requested to the person who issued the check. Your letter must indicate that the person who issued the check has eight (8) days in which to make payment or that you will seek prosecution.
- The check issuer MUST be identified (Photo ID or known to you) Without identification it is unlikely that the Court will sign an arrest warrant. Court IS NOT a collection agency. By filing a Police Report, you MUST be willing to appear in court. There is NO guarantee by filing the warrant that you will be paid.
A CHECK ON WHICH PAYMENT HAS BEEN STOPPED, ONE WHICH YOU HAVE RECEIVED PARTIAL PAYMENT OR THOSE RECEIVED AS RENT PAYMENTS CANNOT BE PROSECUTED THROUGH THE CRIMINAL COURT.
Prior to coming to the Police Department to file the report, be sure you have the following documents and bring them with you.(Make copies as we will need originals as evidence)
- The original check and bank document indicating why the check was not honored
- Copy of the letter you sent to the check issuer
- The receipt sent to you by the Post Office
- Documentation of telephone calls or other attempts you made to collect the debt.
- Completed Arrest Warrant Application/bad check and three witnessed copies of the Notice to persons filing a Complaint of a Bad Check.
DO NOT sign application unless you are doing so in the presence off a Notary Public.
How soon after I move to Connecticut do I have to change my License and Registration?
Within 60 days after establishing residence in Connecticut you are required to resister your vehicle(s) in this State. Check with the Motor Vehicle Department for any additional requirements for transferring registration from out of state vehicles.
Within 30 days after establishing residence in Connecticut you are required to transfer your Operator’s License to this State. (You may not hold an operator’s license in two States) Check with the Motor Vehicle Department for additional requirements for obtaining CT license, i.e. eye exam, etc.
Where can I get more information about the DMV?
The Department of Motor Vehicles has an extensive Web site which will probably answer most questions. Forms are also available for downloading. Please contact them at: http://dmvct.org.